Thursday, November 18, 2010

Why Clay Matthews will not win the NFL MVP

The MVP debate is on but its almost certain that Clay Matthews will not win it but he should. Matthews should and WILL win Defensive Player of the Year but not MVP. I think Michael Vick or Tom Brady will take those honors. The last defensive player to win MVP was Lawrence Taylor in 1986. I think for Matthews to win it he needs to break the single-season sack record held by Michael Strahan of 22.5 set in 2001 (he needs 12.5 sacks in the last 7 games) to be even consider an candidate. I’m not sure Clay Matthews will do it I hope he does but I just think he won’t.

No comments:

Post a Comment